'Strunal 3/4 upright 50/4 question! I need immediate help!

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by InfinityJaco, Aug 10, 2005.

1. InfinityJaco

Jun 5, 2001

I'm an electric bassist but have a friend who's selling a 'Strunal 3/4 upright Czech bass, 50/4' for $950. It's 3 months old, he bought it new, and it includes a soft case. I played it and it's in great condition, and sounds good to my ear, but I'm not too well trained with upright tones and companies, etc.

Does anyone have any good advice or can help me out at all? I want to buy it, but he needs to sell it in a week or so, so I need to make the decision very soon. Are these basses good? Quality? Is this a good buy? etc.

Please help,
    Thank you,
  2. godoze

Oct 21, 2002
    It's a basic plywood bass.
  3. robgrow

robgrow Supporting Member

May 1, 2004
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    A quick Google search reveals that a new Strunal 50/4 can be bought online from various sources for about $1100. So $950 for a used one is not a really a great savings.

Although there are people on this forum who own Strunal basses and like them, I have played a few and haven't been very impressed.

My advice is to pass on this deal, and check out as many double basses as you can before making a choice. Also if you can afford a little more money, you can find a much nicer bass. Upton and Shen laminate basses sell for in the mid to upper teens and are excellent. I think if you're patient and really look around for a while, you'll find the right bass for you.

Best of luck!
  4. Find out what if any set up work was done. A new Strunal unless you buy from a luthier's shop will require a set up. If he had the fingerboard dressed, the soundpost fitted and adjusted, the strings changed. If all this was done $950 will be a pretty good deal IMHO.
  5. 5stringDNA

Oct 10, 2002
    Englewood, CO