Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Stuart Hamm

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by maxoges, Oct 29, 2000.

1. maxoges

maxoges

Aug 23, 2000
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Does anyone except me like the guy?
    I recently bought his first two solo records. They both kick ass, if you can live with the eighties production sounds on em. The latest one "outbound" is a great album in every way. My favorite album at the time.

2. Dude

Dude Commercial User

Mar 19, 2000
    AZ
    Owner: The Dude Pit Forum (closed) Producer: School of Bass
  3. Mike

Mike

Sep 7, 2000
    Cali
    I love Stu's playing also. He was one of my main influences when I started playing in the 80's,great chops but can play with great emotion too. I was in the Bass Center in LA once (I don't know if it's still open. I live in NY now.) and Stuart was in there just hanging out,playing a few of the instruments. I introduced myself just to say, "Hi" and meet him. He was friendly as hell and gave me a few tips for improving my slap technique. It was pretty intimidating to play in front of him but he made me feel at ease. I sat and hung out with him for about 20-30 minutes. His playing in person was unreal. I was f*#king blown away. I realized that day that there really is a thing called talent. I thought someday I might be able to play like that but here I am about 10 years later and I still can't touch it.:)

Oh well.

4. Dude

Dude Commercial User

Mar 19, 2000
    AZ
    Owner: The Dude Pit Forum (closed) Producer: School of Bass
  5. maxoges

maxoges

Aug 23, 2000
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Does anyone know how much he practised each day while studying at Berkley? I want to gather all the info I can on him. I know his friend Steve Vai practised 10 hours/day...

6. Christopher

Christopher

Apr 28, 2000
    New York, NY