1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Stuck in a rut

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by EatADeadGoat, Jan 18, 2012.

1. EatADeadGoat

EatADeadGoat

Aug 29, 2010
    Basically, I feel stuck in a rut as far as my bass playing goes. I appeal to all of you to help me find a spark.

I've been playing for 2 years, have a decent-ish understanding of theory, decent finger speed and accuracy, all that stuff. I can tap a bit, slap is a no, blahdeblahdebla

I think my main problem is connecting all my various riffs I write in a manner that is actually a song, and sometimes I'm too thrashy and pay no attention to melody. So I churn out a cool riff but don't know where to go from there.

So, any and all advice for practice habits, altered scales, chord positions, whatever you think would be helpful is welcome.

2. Ivan M

Ivan M

Aug 2, 2010
    Bronx, NY
    Man Music is infinite, i was in your shoes a few months back, went to my teacher and told him and he laughed. We started working on chord scales which i thought i knew until he started doing them BACKWARDS, boy did i feel like crap, here i was thinking i was the man, until he really showed me. After that my rut was over. I recently started to work on learning songs and we are working on Jamiroquai "virtual insanity" Try to learn that song or any song that interest you, that bass playing fire will come right back. Hope this helps.

3. I bet you made those riffs from a scale, correct?
    Think of your riffs as a little scale. Like Eat A Goat # 27 or Eat A Goat # 63 So a riff of R-5-6-6-5-8-3-5 which contains only notes from the major pentatonic scale could be used over any major chord. Play your riffs like you have been playing your pentatonic scales.

A minor pentatonic riff of say - b3-4-5-8-b7-5-b3-R