Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Student needs some help!!!

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by cjkorman, Oct 14, 2004.

1. Fender American Jazz

4 vote(s)
    50.0%
  2. Fender American Precision

1 vote(s)
    12.5%
  3. Spector Legend

1 vote(s)
    12.5%
  4. Musicman S.U.B.

2 vote(s)
    25.0%
  5. Dean Edge

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  6. G&L Tribute series

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. cjkorman

cjkorman

Oct 14, 2004
    Alright so I am applying to a new university as a jazz major on the electric bass and now I am not niave to the what they are looking for but one thing on the audition qualifications said all major scales 2 octaves. Ive been playing for almost 7 years and have concetrated on the theory of the bass guitar as well as string bass for almost that whole time but at no point in my education on the electric bass was I instructed on playing major/minor scales properly in 2 octaves. On the string bass that is all I ever learned.

So im anyone has any idea of the proper way to play them or has any idea if it is all relative to what I want to play let me know tab files would be much appreciated.

And hey just cause its fun and cliche to do so im putting a poll of your favorite buget basses.

2. ConU

ConU

Mar 5, 2003
    La Belle Province
    2 Octave Scales are considered an absolute bare minimum requirement for a jazz Univ.program.
    If as you say you have been studying for 7 years,and by now you can't do them in your sleep while talking on the phone,watching TV and eating a Big Mac at the same time,somebody has fed you the wrong education.
    Sorry for the harshness of that,but mastering basic rudiments like this is like breathing,you just gotta know it like the back of your hand.
    If you can't pull off those scales on the spot at a really good clip without struggling at that audition you will be shown the door quickly.