Studio Bassist requirements

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Michael Henson, Aug 25, 2009.

1. Hello all! First of all, I know that I've seen threads discussing what I'm going to ask about but for some reason have been unable to find them...So I apologize in advance.

A dream I've always had is to be able to play professionally in both a studio and live performance setting. Right now I'm playing consistently at my church and for our youth services and the occasional fill in spot but nothing has been paid up to this point.

I'm wanting to get to the point that I am a marketable bassist and can be confident that I can land a paid studio gig when the opportunity presents itself. What are the key components of a successful studio musician? I know some of you on here are successful in this arena so I'm very interested in any tips, advice, etc. that you care to offer.

Thanks in advance! :D

2. kesslari

kesslari Groovin' with the Fusion Cats Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Dec 21, 2007
    Santa Cruz Mtns, California
    Lark in the Morning Instructional Videos; Audix Microphones
    1. Learn to read music.
    2. Groove well.
    3. Check your ego at the door, and go out of your way to be polite and work well with others.

I spent a few days with Chuck Rainey, who is about as successful a session bassist as is. Obviously, he has the first 2 bases (and all the basses :D ) covered. I was surprised at how much time he spent talking about the third point. A lot of success builds on success, and on people enjoying working with you and wanting to work with you again.

3. JTE

JTE Supporting Member

Mar 12, 2008
    Central Illinois, USA