Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Studio time - help needed with my rig

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Mara, Dec 9, 2002.

1. Mara

Mara

Jan 11, 2001
    Finland
    Hi guys,

My band is heading to the studio this weekend to record a couple of new songs and I was wondering if anyone could give any tips considering recording the bass. This is my first time in a real studio but I've done smaller scale stuff before.

My rig is: Esh Various V (ADGCF), Peavey MAX, Phonic XP2000 (bridged / 1980W @ 4ohms) and a TVX412.

I'm wondering if I should use the MAX's DI out or mic the cab? I intend to use a the MAX's tube channel with some overdrive, but the thing with my rig is that I need to drive the system really quite loud before I get the growl I like. I understand the the cab is a major factor when producing an overdrive sound, so is it at all possible to get that sweet growl when using the DI out from the MAX? Is there an stompbox or a processor or something that would help me getting this warm but punchy growl?

The DI out / cab dilemma aside, is there a specific stompbox you'd recommend that I should have with me in the studio (aside my TU-2)? Limiter? Compressor? EQ?

:confused:

Thanks a bunch!

Mara

2. JayAmel

JayAmel Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2002
    Aurillac, France
    What I definitely prefer is a subtle combination of D.I. + miked amp.

I wouldn't take a 2000 W amp to any studio, though.

3. phairphunk

phairphunk

Jun 19, 2000
    Yeah, what he said. As a student of sound recording, I like to do a mix of the two, though I don't like DIing out of the amp - I prefer putting it in the signal chain before the amp (if you have one that lets you run through it). Any idea on what mic you plan on using?

4. jerry

jerry Doesn't know BDO Gold Supporting Member

Dec 13, 1999
    Hawaii