1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Studying Jazz...Summer Programs..Continuing Education?

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by lowEndRick, Dec 27, 2006.

1. lowEndRick

lowEndRick

Apr 8, 2006
    CT
    Hey All

I am becoming increasingly interested in studying jazz bass. At 42 years old with 3 kids, a wife, and numerous professional committments I can't just drop it all and enroll in a local university program. I also have lots of gaps in my knowledge that would prevent me from taking on a traditional college program. I've been a musician for over 30 years, but only recently came to the DB. I play a lot and gig often (mostly in the bluegrass genre) but I do not read music well yet and I am just catching up on a lot of theory.

I would love to find a continuing ed program geared towards someone who is more of a hobbyist or aspiring semi-pro with other life committments. I also have a lot of free time in the summer. I would love to find a program in CT or NY where I could study jazz bass more intensively for the summer.

Anyone have any recommendations?

2. Freddels

Freddels Musical Anarchist

Apr 7, 2005
    Sutton, MA
    How close to NYC are you? My former teacher, Santi DeBriano, is back in NYC and he teaches privately. You'll learn a great deal more that way than at a short summer program (not that a summer program would be bad) but private lessons would be tailored to you and would address your shortcomings.

3. philip sirois

philip sirois

May 29, 2006
    NYC
  4. lowEndRick

lowEndRick

Apr 8, 2006
    CT
    I'm not really close enough to NYC anymore to take lessons there. I've been resisting the lessons thing because of time and funds, but I think I might have to bite the bullet eventually to make some real progress. Right now I am working through the rufus reid material, but of course nothing replaces a real live teacher.