Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Stupid Newbie mistakes Ashdown/avatar stuff

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by gamera, Sep 22, 2004.

1. gamera

gamera

Sep 20, 2004
    Gloucester, MA
    Hi,

I am a newbie here. I just wanted to post some of my mistakes so others won't make the same ones. I was a bass player 20 years ago and then for some inexplicable reason people kept asking me to play guitar so I switched, well I just recently switched back.

Not really knowing anything about bass I soliticed some advice from an old bands bass player who frequents this board. Super nice guy and gave me good advice. He suggested I talk to Avatar about getting one of their specials. You get an Ashdown bass head and a speaker cabinet for short money. I looked it up. I called them and made the deal.

I thought I was getting an ABM325 and got a MAG300. I also asked him if the 2X10 cabinet was sufficent to handle the amp, and if ity wasn't I would go bigger, maybe 2X12 or 4X10 if absolutely neccesary. I was told 2X10 was fine.

So now I have a cheaper amp head than I wanted and a 2X10 cab that can't remotely handle the power.

Moral of the story, listen ask more questions, and don't trust everyone. I probably should have come here or listened more to my friend. Sorry to ramble, I am just feeling pretty stupid right now.

My next question is the ABM325 that much better than the MAG300, has anyone ever compared the two?

2. Stinsok

Stinsok Supporting Member

Dec 16, 2002
    Central Alabama
    The B210 is supposed to handle 700 watts. Isn't the Mag 300 supposed to be 307 watts?

3. gamera

gamera

Sep 20, 2004
    Gloucester, MA
    Well thats what I read, but it really distorts out when turning it about a 1/3 of the way up. That is also what the guy at Avatar said as well. I'm just sure that this will rip the speakers up within a couple of practices.