Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Stupid question i know....

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Nazmyth, Mar 10, 2003.

1. Nazmyth

Nazmyth

Mar 10, 2003
    ok im very new to TB but just a question that will be easily answered... i have been playing guitar for about 5-6 years (im 19) but i want to widen my musical approach and i want to pick up the bass... yet i need some info about the bass ok here it goes:
    whats the purpose of the bass in a practice/live situation?
    4 or 5? i like to play fast hard detuned stuff, such as coal chamber, slipknot, mudvayne (well that was with guitar)
    also i would appreciate any infomation on the side that would be helpful in the long run
    rock on :bassist:

2. PollyBass

PollyBass ******

Jun 25, 2001
    Shreveport, LA
    First of all, this is the wrong fourm to be asking this in, I belive.