Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Stupid Question # ? MD/DE/PA Help!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by randlk, Aug 30, 2005.

1. I have an old Fender 100 watt bass amp that needs new imputs(?). I'm not technically-minded; I'm talking about the two areas (holes) where you can plug in a 1/4" imput? My local repair guy says Fender is proprietary and I have to ship this huge, hevay amp off to the West Coast to get it fixed. This is not going to happen; it would cost more than I paid for the amp! Can anyone in the MD/DE/PA area help? I can put the parts in if I can just find them!!
    Thanks!

2. I had a Fender BXR100, and the bass input sockets were mounted on the printed circuit board, so it may not be as easy as replacing a stand-alone guitar jack.

Having said that, it isn't rocket science, and you should be able to get spare (Fender?) parts sent out to you, if you are sure that that is all that is wrong. However, if neither socket works, I would suspect the electronics that they connect to rather than the sockets themselves.

When a repairman suggests shipping an complete unit back to Fender, I would go for a second opinion (which is what you are doing I know, I know).

Good luck.

3. billfitzmaurice

billfitzmaurice Commercial User

Sep 15, 2004
    New Hampshire
    Owner, Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design
    There's no such thing as proprietary 1/4 inch jacks. However, there are a number of different mounting schemes used for PC mounted jacks. A really good technician can use jumpers to connect a different style jack to a PC board; obviously yours doesn't fall into that category.