1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Stupid questions

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by jtlownds, Mar 1, 2008.

1. jtlownds

jtlownds

Oct 3, 2004
    LaBelle, FL
    One of the bands that I play with is a 6 piece dixieland band that is led by the worst clarinet player in southwest Florida. Somehow he gets some really fantastic players to play with him. He recently booked a restaurant gig for tomorrow. They didn't want to spring for the 6 piece group, so he booked it as a trio. (piano, bass & clarinet) He recently discovered that I am also a guitarist, and asked if I would double on guitar too. I'm not too crazy about that, but he's writing the checks, so I agreed. Today I get a call from him to verify that I can find the place, and to tell me that it's a restaurant gig and they want us to keep the volume down. He then states that my amplifier can get really loud and asks if I have a smaller (quieter) amp that I can bring to the gig!!!!!! I'm sorely tempted to say "Tony, there is a new invention out that you may not be aware of - It's called a volume control knob." But, I just bite my tongue, and tell him that I can just turn it down. I've had some really stupid requests from patrons before, but this was the stupidest request that I have ever gotten from a fellow musician

2. Jazz Ad

Jazz Ad Mi la ré sol Supporting Member

I used to play with a keyboard guy for pop covers.
    He once asked me to use a baritone sax on my bass because it would sound better for the song.
    I didn't even bother explaining him that I couldn't change sounds just by pressing a button.

3. On of my Jazz band (auditionless) for a my high school asked me "is this song swung eighths?" It was a blues.

4. Marcus Johnson

Marcus Johnson

Nov 28, 2001
    Maui