Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

STUPID'S GETTING MARRIED... oh wait, no I'm not... (wedding photography)

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Matt Till, Mar 22, 2004.

1. Matt Till

Matt Till

Jun 1, 2002
    Edinboro, PA
    I'm a photographer right? But I don't really take pictures of people... I can, but I don't that often. But I have been offered a job as a Wedding photographer. One job deal, 600 bucks starting price.

I know there are a few photographers on here, Petebass even took some Wedding photos. So I was wondering if anyone had any advice. I need to buy a flash, other than that, do I need anything special.

I haven't found out all the info yet (what they want for prints, etc) but who knows, this might be an OK career for me. Not very artsy, but it would pay the bills. I figure, that with a mix of stock photography and bam, mucho bucks... o. The gig isn't for another year, so I've got time to prepare.

2. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    Take it seriously, the more professional you are, the more chance you have of getting future weddings.

Like, even if you don't do a great job, if you leave a great impression, then, before the wedding company even gets their prints back, they will be able to say to their guests "the photographer was REALLY great" ;)

oh yeah, you'll also probably want a good zoom, since you're not going to be able to get in the face of the to-be weds while they are doing some stuff.

having things like a light meter makes you look more professional too ;)

3. Matt Till

Matt Till

Jun 1, 2002
    Edinboro, PA
    Light meter... what's that... uh oh. ;)

I have been meaning to invest in an "off camera" light meter and a zoom now that you mention it.