Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Subharmonic Synth and Amp question

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Chris_AtariDoll, Mar 10, 2003.

1. Chris_AtariDoll

Chris_AtariDoll

Dec 8, 2001
    UK
    Im thinking about getting a subharmonic synth (DBX 120) and i was just wondering if my current rig will be able to cope with the extra lowend.

Warwick Pro-Fet IV
    Behringer Composer Pro
    Warwick 2x10 and 1x15

2. I run the DBX 120a box (identical) and it drives hell out of my subwoofers between 26 Hz and 55 Hz.

As much as I like the DBX box, I'd check around a bit more. First, the box only operates on fundamentals between 55 and 110 Hz, or A to A. I'd like mine to operate on a wider range. Behringer makes a similar box, similar price, but I have no experience.

Next, there is no foot switch to activate the synth function. This is done by a push button on the front panel. It is a bit inconvenient to reach over and turn this on in the middle of a tune. I'd really like a foot switch.

On the positive side, the synth tracks VERY well, is quiet and works well.

You will need speakers FULLY capable of handling the big bottom end, or you will blow them out at stage volume.