1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Success shielding and grounding a vintage P Bass without shielding the pickup cavity

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Snaxster, Aug 14, 2012.

1. Snaxster

Snaxster

Nov 29, 2008
    Yesterday, I completely eliminated electrical hum and micro-shocks in my vintage Fender Precision Bass. Finally! What may be novel about the treatment is that I did not shield the pickup cavity.

[DISCLAIMER: In the matter of electronics, I am a beginner, not an expert. This post is merely a testimonial that might be helpful to others. If you try anything I describe here and diminish an instrument in any way, it is not my fault.]

When two days ago I broke a 3.5 year old string on my vintage P Bass, instead of crying (always an option if you favor old strings, as I do), I said "I'm goin' in!" This was my chance to 1. oil the fingerboard, 2. swap in a darker tone cap, and 3. try to eliminate the electrical hum and micro-shocks I had become complacent about.

(Since I play bass with double-thumbing/slap/fingerpicking a lot, I can generate enough static to wreak havoc in some basses, especially when humidity is low. This caused a crackling sound in my Nordy vJ4, also fixed, and occasional micro-shocks in my vintage P Bass.)

After removing the pickguard with the electronics harness, I carefully photo-documented everything. Then I swapped in the tone cap. I then reviewed various instructions for shielding guitars and started applying copper foil tape to the pickguard and electronics cavity.

Since it was late and I was tired, when that step was done, I considered whether I could get away with not shielding the pickup cavity. I did doubt my ability to correctly set the pickup height on re-installation, so I used that as an excuse to skip the pickup cavity.