Suggest me some electronic drums

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by jenderfazz, Sep 1, 2005.

1. Hi everyone, I'm a full time bassist of course, and since I'm pretty much fine with the gear I have at the moment (fighting GAS as much as possible) I'd like to buy something different. I love drumming but I live in a small duplex and don't have room for an acoustic set. I was thinking an electronic drum set would be great to play around with, possibly record little jams with (when I get a bit better), and overall improve a bit in my drumming skill (although I realize there's no substitute for the feel of a real snare or hi-hat). I have a large bdguet to work with but I don't want to spend too much... let's say under 1 grand CDN? Roughly 800$ US or less. Of course the lower the price the better, but it's akin to the Squier/MIM argument... I wouldn't mind spending a bit more to get something that's not total crap. Keep in mind that this would be a hobby.

Any suggestions? Any brands to stay away from? I obviously enjoyed the feel of the Rolands I've tried (with the white mesh). Very bouncy, very comfortable. I've tried some with those rubber disks and it wasn't the same, although I didn't have a problem with em. I guess comfort and ease of play is ideal, and if possible something that feels a lot like a real drumset (if I was getting it just for the purpose of recording drums I would have gotten one of those drum pads... I wanna play drums :D). Sound is not a big priority as long as it sounds decent. Finally, I don't want something that'll break easily, although I don't think I'll be too rough it it. Thanks.

EDIT: Maybe a set with at least a mesh snare:

2. for what you're getting with those v-drums, they're hardly a steal.

Look at the hart dynamics percussion stuff. cheaper, better (imo, better feel), and get a good brain.