Suggestions - Best Amp for Lots of warmth and tone ?alved s

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Gerard Rizzardo, Feb 13, 2001.

1. New amp time. I've been using a Gallien/K RB400, for many years now. I want a to buy a new 400 watt or so Amp, that has a valve preamp this time. I'm looking for something that has a lot of Smooth & Warm Tone, but is still clear and not mushy ? My own possible thoughts are Eden Wt 400, SWR 350, Hartke 3500/5000. I play a lot of smooth Jazz and Funk etc on a Fretless 4 & Fretted 6 string. So I would really appreciate it, if a few suggestions and thoughts could be given, and if there are any other Amps I don't know of. Sorry I know this topic has been talked about before many times. I've Done many searches, but still confused & not sure. Being a bit of an old timer, I'm out of touch when it comes to hardware so to speak !!!
  2. Oysterman

Mar 30, 2000
    Smooth, warm and and clear tone? Sounds like Aguilar to me. Expensive gear, but it is believed to be one of the best bass amp brands.
  3. Aguilar is the best sounding amp on the market(IMO). You could get a new DB-359 for $1200 or so. 10 year warranty and one year on the tubes(4-6650s!!!)
  4. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

Aguilar- warmest, fattest tone I ever got.

If you're not willing to get a second mortgage for that set up, Ampeg has "The Bone Tone"
  5. DaveB

Mar 29, 2000
    Toronto Ontario
    I certainly agree with the Aguilar comments. I have an Eden WT-500 and D410XLT and while the Aguilar would be an upgrade ( at the appropriate upgrade price) I think that Eden would also fit your needs perfectly. Nothing wrong with SWR and Hartke - although of those two I like the SWR.
  6. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
  7. VictorLeMonteWooten

Dec 6, 2000