Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Suggestions for a 1x12

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Fbregy, Jul 7, 2002.

1. Fbregy

Fbregy

Apr 10, 2002
    Little Rock, AR
    Hey.
    Looking for a good 1x12 cab. I am pretty new to bass after playing gu**ar for a while. I have discovered I do not like the sound of 10s or 15s alone but like the sound of a 12. I currently have a combo but would like to add a 12 to my current setup. None of the local shops carry anything but 10 or 15 inch speakers.

Thanks

2. rllefebv

rllefebv

Oct 17, 2000
    Newberg, Oregon
    Several folks here speak highly of the Aguilar GS112... $399 from MusiciansFriend... I think that stroy05 has one for sale in the classifieds...

-robert

3. Fbregy

Fbregy

Apr 10, 2002
    Little Rock, AR
    Thanks, I had heard good things about that cab. I will check out the classified.

4. jokerjkny

jokerjkny

Jan 19, 2002
    NY / NJ / PA
    what kind of band are you playing?

from my experiences, a 12" is good if its a small combo where the bass has to fill in alot of the low mid, low end. in my last group, it was just me, the drummer, pianist, and vocalist, so i had to make up alot of the lows.

but with a recent group of two guitars, keyboard, percussionist, drummer, 3 vocalists, it got a little dense, and the low end was thick with the keyboardist, guitars, and myself. so, a 2x10 was more appropriate. more punch and clarity than the otherwise less defined 12".

but, if you want something to just practice with at home, a 1x12 sounds great all around. good compromise of lows, yet still punchie.

as for cabs, hi end wise, there's bergantino for that sweet, rounded, glassy, hifi feel. there's aguilar for that thick, churny low mids tone. and Epifani for that airy, hifi, low booty butt punch.