1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Suggestions for a beginner

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by macaroon9, Aug 17, 2012.

1. Hey everyone!
    As the title suggests, I am just starting out and I need advice on a good bass for a newbie like me. My budget is max $400. I do realize that I'll need other equipment and I'm willing to spend upto $150 for an amp. Any advice for other equipment will be appreciated.
    Thanks

2. jwj1701

jwj1701

Nov 17, 2011
    Lexington KY
    Brand names are going to be your personal
    Preference. The biggest thing I can suggest doesn't have anything to do with gear, but find a good teacher and take lessons. That will really be worth your money. There are plenty of good combo amps on the market. Just like your bass, start trying them out until you find one that has that sound your looking for. I know that's not what you were looking for but you can compare brands an prices until the cows come home. It's just something you have to hear for your self. And when you find it, play the hell out of it. Enjoy your new rig whatever it turns out to be.

3. For that price, in my opinion, the choice is easy. The Ibanez SR300 is a 4 string with 24 frets.

I've played the SR500 (outside the price range) and it sounds great for the price, and features for the price are great.

For a great starter bass I also recommend the Ibanez GSR200. My youngest son has this bass. I LOVE the tone color on that thing. Plus, where are you going to get a 9v active bass with a P/J configuration for $200 bucks? It seems too cheap to be any good, but my EARS tell me this is a great bass for the price.

The other route, of course, would be to save up longer and get a higher-than-entry-level instrument. Or perhaps do a kit build from Carvin, etc, etc.

Happy hunting!
    :bassist: