1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Suggestions for adding a little grit to my tone

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by RP27, Feb 12, 2016.

1. RP27

RP27

Sep 13, 2015
    I'm new to effects pedals and need some advice. I would like to add a little grit to my tone and not sure what pedal to get to accomplish this. I recently bought a swollen pickle fuzz pedal and no matter what I do its just too much distortion for the tone I want. Should I be looking into overdrive pedals? I play mostly metal with a Spector and Fender Precision. Thanks!

2. blizward

blizward

Feb 21, 2013
    Rennes - France
    Look for an overdrive instead of a distorsion. I won't be specific about any device because there are plenty of options depending if you need a transparent drive or more of an "amp in a box".

Last edited: Feb 13, 2016
    hrodbert696 and Nephilymbass like this.
  3. Do you want it really clean while playing softly, and then grit when you dig in?

Do you use a pick?

What amp do you have?

Are both your Spectre and Precision passive or active?

These questions and many more variables made known will help people make recommendations.

mj_, Hi-End Basses and SunnBass like this.
  4. mmbongo

mmbongo Five Time World Champion Supporting Member

Aug 5, 2009
    Carolinas
    EHX Bass Soul Food is a fantastic way to add just a little bit of grit on the cheap.

5. Fat Steve

Fat Steve The poodle bites, the poodle chews it.

Joyo American Sound. Best $30 you'll ever spend.

6. TerribleLiar23

TerribleLiar23 GNSRZRSKNVS Supporting Member

Oct 11, 2011
    RTP