1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

suggestions for amp - retro, 60's classic rock in style

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by joelee, May 1, 2010.

1. joelee

joelee

May 1, 2010
    hello,

after being a long time guitarist i've revently taken up a spot as a bass player in band. the probablem is i've been using an amp on loan from one of my mates. and so i am now looking to by my own rig this week before we start gigging. however, while i know a thing or two about guitar amps, i have a great deal to learn about bass amps.

the bass i am using is a simi hollow hofner bass clone i've restrung with flat wounds. it's got a nice woody thump and a classic sound i am going for and i would love to aquire an amp that is complementary. the band i am in is largly acoustic, organ, and drums, so i do not foresee a need to buy anything over the top high wattage. just something modest yet suitable for small to modest size gigs (i will have the option to mic as well live). my budgit is around $300 ideally, but i could part with a few more big bills if it means finding a soul mate for the bass i love. :)

thanks mates,
    joel

2. waleross

waleross

Nov 27, 2009
    South Florida
  3. Trevorus

Trevorus

Oct 18, 2002
    Urbana, IL
    You may not really get that defining tone for a 300 dollar budget. Old peavey 115 combos were beastly loud, and got a relatively good tone. Other than that, Ampeg tubes is defining of retro and classic.

4. Dark Horse

Dark Horse Supporting Member

Jul 31, 2008
    Austin, TX
  5. raymondl3

raymondl3

Dec 10, 2007
    USA
    I'd recommend a 1x15 combo. That will help give you that "classic" sound and is perfect for "thump." You might want to look into a used Peavey or Fender combo. Good luck.

6. joelee

joelee

May 1, 2010