Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

suggestions for this situation....

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by MCBTunes, Feb 3, 2005.

1. Well I'm a high school student... I work part time at a gas station, get about 80cdn dollars a week. I cuttently have about 2000cdn in the bank. I desperatly need a new bass. I'm not a huge bassist yet, still playing a piece of junk.

Now, I want a Music Man Bongo, but my mom is telling me I will regret it. I need a car, going to university next year etc, maybe a new amp to replace my 25 watt practice...She says the 1375cdn for a NEW bongo, is not a wise use of my 2000 dollars...what if i lose interest? she says. I am one of those people though....

Mind you i've never played a Bongo, or even felt one... BUT I have played a sterling and it was perfect with the exception that i want a littler bit of a deeper flatter tone, which i hear the bongo will give me.

What do you guys think? To bongo or to look into something cheaper, like the 500-700 range. My only problem with that is the poor man pays twice... if i buy a cheap one i'll spend that 600 then a year down the road i'll be blowing 1375 on my bongo...

2. Car will eat your money, even after you buy one.

Personally I say dont get anything...

3. jvbjr

jvbjr

Jan 8, 2005
    Going out with new friends at college will eat up that $2000 in a semister or two. If you join a band and NEED a new bass, then make a move. Nothing sucks more than sitting in the dorm on Fri or Sat night because you are broke, or so I've been told, I always worked in summers and had plenty of cash for college fun.

4. hmm, so you guys are kinda telling me to consider doing nothing... just hanging on to my Renegade. That is doable, I figured I would learn better on a quality instrument though.

5. silky smoove

silky smoove Supporting Member

May 19, 2004
    Seattle, WA