1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Suggestions on finishing my octave>OD>filter pseudo-synth chain

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by moatilliatta, Jan 9, 2008.

1. moatilliatta

moatilliatta

Sep 24, 2005
    Columbia, MO
    After reading up here (http://www.talkbass.com/forum/archive/index.php/t-307893.html) on how the best synth pedals aren't made anymore, and that a good way to imitate them is an octaver>fuzz/overdrive>filter chain. I should also state I'm pretty new to the real of effects, so if I'm going about this wrong, please tell me! Ideally I want sounds close to your basic sin wave old school synthy keyboard sounds, and/or more modern "generic" synth bass keyboard sounds.

I just got a DigiTech BSW, and while it's fun I have a hard time getting quite what I want, so I'm thinking of trying this chain option to expand my possibilities (though I am going to play around with the BSW a few more days to see if I can get what I want from it before buying anything new). The BSW I can use for it's much-acclaimed octaver function. My Humphrey modded Badder Bass Monkey OD pedal should be coming soon, which leaves the filter. (I know the BSW is technically an envelope filter pedal, but it's more of a few specialized "voices" than a straight filter ped, right? And I'd be using it for the octaver here regardless.)

Any suggestions? I want to keep it cheap (1. i'm broke & 2. i play with two loud guitarists so the difference in the high-dollar pedals probably won't be heard on stage), not much over $100 if possible, under that is better.

I've read a few good things about the DOD FX25, would it work well for this? I'm thinking that at the price it'd be worth getting just for a bit more sound shaping.

Any ideas/tips? Thanks!

2. jucas

jucas

Dec 14, 2003
    Alberta