suggestions on good practice amp.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by coffee-sipper, Oct 29, 2003.

1. coffee-sipper

Jul 10, 2003
    Raleigh NC
    Ok so the amps I like are:
    SWR la 8
    SWR la 12
    Hartke b30
    Hartke b60

I'd like something compact, clear sounding, durable, and I won't out grow quickly. So far the swr la 8 is my favorite.

possibly the peavy microbass (I haven't tried it yet).

Some background on my amp needs. I don't play in a band - though I continually day dream that Led Zepplin will reunit and call me up to tour with them. I haven't been playing all that long but would like to jam along with my guitar playing friends and some boogie woogie piano my wife jams out. I have a yamaha bb404 and a carlo robelli accoustic bass, both of which I really like.
  2. megiddo

Apr 5, 2003
    Houston, Texas
    Try the Peavey Micro Bass amp. Being a newbie myself, I've listened to lots of amps in the last 6 months. I have the Micro Bass and the Basic 112 and they have both served me well. Others may disagree with me but those Peavey amps are the best bang and tone for the buck I've heard. Oh, I've tried those Hartke amps. They sound great in the store but not in the church or at home, but I'm playing a Fender Jazz bass so I probably get a different tone than you would.