Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Suggestions/tips for reformatting Windows XP machine

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Ty McNeely, May 27, 2004.

1. Ty McNeely

Ty McNeely

Mar 27, 2000
    TX
    Well, the time has come for me to reformat. I think I have a lot of spyware that I can't get rid of, and my machine is becoming insanely slow. I think the best option would be to just reformat and start all over.

I'm currently in the process of backing up everything that I want to keep, but are there any other suggestions or tips to help me along in the backup process?? I've never done this on a Windows XP machine before, so I want to make sure I do everything right and everything goes smoothly.

Anything, anyone?

2. Toasted

Toasted

May 26, 2003
    Leeds, UK
    Use XP smart format. Thats an ace tool.

- oh and before you need to do it do these things:

-hijack this

-spybot search and destroy

-adaware

3. If you run a decent anti-spyware program (with all the updates), it should get rid of most of the spyware.

Anyway, if you insist on formatting (it should only be as a last resort though), make a separate partition of about 10 gigs. Install only windows and drivers to that. This way, if you have to format again you can keep the other partitions with files and programs.

Also, test you backups! I had a friend lose his entire collection of pr0n to discs with faulty sectors. If only he had tested them before formatting...

4. Toasted

Toasted

May 26, 2003
    Leeds, UK

A friend, uh, you dont know him - he, err, lives out of state

5. Nah really. Like I said, I keep mine on separate partitions so I don't lose it when formatting :D

6. elevenwatt

elevenwatt

Mar 31, 2004