Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

suitcase for gigs

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by sunnpeg, May 28, 2002.

1. I've been gigging for twenty years and I still have not come up with a good way to transport all my stuff: cords, tuner, microphone, emergency drum sticks (yes it happened once) straps and misc gadgets. For the past few years I've used suitcases bought from goodwill. Any suggestions?

2. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

I use a large gym bag, with lots of compartments.

3. I personally use a small dufflebag, but my older brother uses an Anvil-like case that his dad picked up where he works(a machine part of some kind was in it) and brought it home....

4. SlapDaddy

SlapDaddy

Mar 28, 2000
    what's wrong with a suitcase from Goodwill?

5. rllefebv

rllefebv

Oct 17, 2000
    Newberg, Oregon
    'Zactly what I'm using... $1.25 at the Goodwill!!

-robert

6. Brendan

Brendan

Jun 18, 2000
    Austin, TX
    I have a white plastic bin that's about the size of a shoebox. Hold strings, tuners, a Chorus pedal I never use, picks I never use, a Leatherman multitool (a MUST), and then the instrument cables go in the gig bags, with the amp cables coiled on top of the amp en transit.

When I build myself a rack here in a few weeks, I'm gonna build in a little shelf to keep it all in, so I only have one thing to carry...

7. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    Lands' End soft briefcase. Plenty of pockets inside for mics, stomp boxes, tool kits, cords and doodads. Pocket outside for set lists and manuals.

8. Hategear

Hategear Workin' hard at hardly workin'.

Apr 6, 2001
    Appleton, Swissconsin