Summer Dilemma

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by Miles Hanson, Feb 26, 2003.

1. Before I state my problem, I would like to thank all of you for your many posts on all things bass on this site. I've only recently become a member, but have been a "lurker" for close to a year. I'm posting this problem not for you to make my choice for me, but to help weigh things out. Here's some quick info on me: I've been playing DB for a year and a half (I played slab for five years), I just recently got accepted to the University of South Florida Jazz Studies Program and music (more specifically jazz) is my life.

Here's the problem. USF's top jazz combo, the Jazztet, is going on a tour of Europe this summer. They need a bass player and the head of the jazz department wants me to do it! Even though I don't think I'm quite up to the level of the other players in the Jazztet, I guess they like something I'm doing. He told me we'll be playing the Montreaux, Vienna and Umbria jazz festivals! I said yes. He didn't have the dates yet. Now he tells me it's July 9th to the 21st. Problem!!!

My friend from my old town is getting married on July 19th and I'm going to be his best man! Big problem!!! There are a few more interesting details but I'll wait on posting them. Any thoughts, ideas...cloning devices!!
  2. It's not like the dude's your brother. And chances are you won't even be in touch with each other 5 or 10 years from now, that's the way it is. On the other hand the Europe gig could be a once in a life time opportunity. You'll have the time of your life.
  3. lermgalieu

lermgalieu Supporting Member

Apr 27, 2000
    Palo Alto, CA
    I'd take the gig. I've chosen my family over good gigs on many occasions before, but no gig as good as what you're talking about. VERY tough decision though. Whatever you decide, decide it before you talk to him, cuz if you call him to feel him out on the issue, he'll feel guilted.
  4. jimclark68

Dec 16, 2000
    Morganton, NC