Sunbeams: 'best overall' round?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by IPA, Jul 25, 2013.

1. IPA

IPA

May 5, 2010
    I have tried a lot of different rounds, admittedly not all of them (money/time etc) but so far, the best overall to my ears has been Sunbeams.

They are not the bassiest, not the loosest, not the brightest, not the stiffest... they sit right in the middle. Comfortable on different basses, sound and feel that compliments many different styles. In the interest of predictable results and saving money, I think I'm content to just pick up a pack of Sunbeams whenever I need a new set of rounds.

Any other members of the Cult of Sunbeam out there?

2. jeff7bass

jeff7bass

Apr 9, 2009
    I'm new to Sunbeams. My new Carvin B40's strings were gritty sounding, which is cool, but were a little hard on the fingers and lacked some depth on the lower strings. I hit the strings pretty hard and OUCH, my old wrist was acting up and my fingertips where taking a beating.

With the Sunbeams I find myself not playing as hard, while also getting a bit more low end and a little less zing. This is good because I had to tame the zing and turn up the bass knob on the amp (more than I like). The Sunbeams feel a tiny bit looser but not in a bad way, especially since I'm not playing as hard. They are smoother and the harmonics ring clearer also, which I like because I play them on a few songs.

Overall I say the Sunbeams are a somewhat the sophisticated gentlemen of strings. The more I play them the more I realize their understated quality.

:D

3. etherealme

etherealme Supporting Member

Jun 26, 2007
    Louisiana
    I've liked every roundwound steel set if DR Strings that I've tried. Detune, Lo-riders and Sunbeams all are fantastic to my ears.

4. Turxile

Turxile

May 1, 2011
    It largely depends on the bass. On one of my basses, nothing sounds or feels as good as Sunbeams, and I don't use anything else.