Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Sunn Beta Bass Head

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by bassizac, Oct 21, 2003.

1. Hey I'm new to bass (it's hard to be a guitarist) and to the forum. My first question. So here goes.
    Ok does anyone knw anything about the Sunn Beta Bass head? Any users? Ex users? love, hate, heard a story about it? There's little info online and it's been mixed.
    I kept checking ebay for it just to see the average (maybe) going price. Found one for $149.00, now I can get one from a pawn shop near me for $99. Is that price even worth it?
    Right now I play through an ampeg V50H (it's mostly for guitar) so a dedicated bass amp would be a nice change as I am really liking the bass (I think it suits me).
    Thanks for any help or insults.
    Hope to have a good relationship with this site since there seems to be a higher ratio of guitar to bass sites out there.
    Take it easy all
    iZAC

2. BillyB_from_LZ

BillyB_from_LZ Supporting Member

Sep 7, 2000
    Chicago
  3. yeah I've definately read that, it's just that harmony central always leaves me wanting more info. Or maybe I just make bad instrument choices and that's why they're always rated low or have few posts. Thanks though I will read it again maybe a little deeper.

4. BillyB_from_LZ

Sep 7, 2000
    Chicago
    IIRC, the Beta Bass amps were made in the late '70s, early '80s. I don't know that they enjoyed the popularity of the Concert Bass, Colliseum Bass and the earlier tube amps.

If it works, looks like it's in good condition, sounds good to your ears and does all that you want it to do, it should be fine.

5. BillyB_from_LZ

Sep 7, 2000
    Chicago