1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Sunn Beta Lead - Is it loud enough?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by De93, May 10, 2010.

1. De93

De93

May 10, 2010
    Hello, I'm a guitarist, but doing some research for my band's bassist since I'm more of a tone and gear nerd. There's a Sunn Beta Lead available in the area for around 300, which I'm considering for a doomy gutair setup, but I'm fairly certain these were made to work with bass too. Does anybody have any experience with the Sunn Beta Lead used as a bass amplifier? It's only 100 watts, but Sunns are notoriously deceitful when judged by wattage. Would this amp get loud enough to compete with a high-gain guitar stereo guitar setup with both a solid state and tube head? I've done some searching through the board, but couldn't find information specific to it's volume.

2. GtenderG

GtenderG

Feb 29, 2008
    Probably won't be as loud as you need it.

I 've used the Beta Lead to get a nice distorted tone to my bass but it was mic'ed and sent thru the pa.

3. ZombiCrow

ZombiCrow

Jun 15, 2006
    Davenport, IA
    My Beta Bass is DEFINITELY loud enough, through pretty much any cab you'd gig with a band, and my friend's Beta Lead is as loud, but with bass not as clean. Could be something to do with the different EQ frequencies, or those particular amps, but I say go for it, great amps with great distortion character when you crank the gain!

4. I've used a Sunn Beta Lead a few times in super crusty noisy loud band settings.

It's definetly loud 'enough'... however... Sunn is so chic these days, IMHO, $300 is a bit too much for what you'd really be geting.