Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

S'up everyone. Im new to the bass world.

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Chicken Socks, Dec 28, 2003.

1. Hey rockstars. Hi im new and ive been playing drums for 3 years and played in some different bands and gigs. but im new to the bass. yeah i want to learn how to play the bass but i cant afford the lessons. but ive always loved the bass. So hey just want to know, what can you teach to a newb, whether its important ppl, chords, care for my bass, websites, anything at all. thanks peace and rock on. you dudes r awesome and im glad to be a bassist.

P.S. if theres anything anyone wants to learn about the drums feel free to ask.

2. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    about the chords thing.. chords arent usually something played by bassists (although theree are exceptions)

Did you buy a bass?

3. Mike Money

Mike Money Banned

Mar 18, 2003
    Bakersfield California
    Avatar Speakers Endorsing Hooligan
    First, to be a prominent member of Talkbass.com, you have to think that Quarter Notes suck, Fieldy is actually satan, and Jaco never did ANYTHING wrong. Ever. He was the first person to ever play any note that he ever played.

Oh, and no matter what, you can't use a pick unless your paul mcartney.

4. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Or justin chancellor.

5. Mike Money

Mike Money Banned

Mar 18, 2003
    Bakersfield California
    Avatar Speakers Endorsing Hooligan
    But that only applies if you are running all kinds of crazy effects, and have a homosexual singer with a name that sounds like a food item.

6. john turner

john turner You don't want to do that. Trust me. Staff Member Administrator

Mar 14, 2000
    atlanta ga
    hey chicken socks, welcome to talkbass.

and pay no attention to these two, nobody else does. :). ;)

7. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003