Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Suped up Shen 100

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Mark Sacchetti, Feb 14, 2005.

1. Has anyone bought or played one of Arnold Schnitzer's "suped" up Shen 100 plywood bass. I have one on order.

I have serious gas for the La Scalla model but its price is out of my budget.So enters the Shen. I am very excited and would love to hear your experience with this upright. :bassist:

Thanks,
    Mark

2. I have no experience with the shen, but he did a lot of stuff to my kay in 1994 and it's still amazing. His work is great. Some of the work included a new fingerboard, more wood on the neck under the fingerboard for stability and to angle the neck, new bridge, endpin and probably some stuff I've forgotten about, but I love this bass, I liked it before he did the work but I loved it after.

3. Jazzman

Jazzman

Nov 26, 2002
    Raleigh, NC
    Arnold gave my American Standard his treatment. I simply could not be happier with his work - 100% perfection. I didn't know he sold shen's which he upgraded...I may have look into that for a backup/second bass.

4. Update on my Suped uped Shen:

Heard from Arnold today reegarding my bass. He said it plays like
    "butter" and I should expect it sometime next week.

It has been set up with Spiracore's and I had a full circle pup installed.
    I am very excited!!

Mark

5. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Bettendorf, IA USA
    Can you offer any details as to what exactly is done to make it a superior Shen to the common variety? Other than an excellent setup, of course.

6. John Sprague

John Sprague Sam Shen's US Distributor

Mar 10, 2003
    Rochester, NY
    Sales Manager, CSC Products Inc.
    I'll try to give some info without getting "sales-y" about it. On the Shen end of things, here is what seperates it from a Shen SB100 stock bass: