Super-funky DB sound, and a question.

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by strangemusic, May 28, 2005.

1. Hello, Double Bass forums! This is the first time i've stepped out of the Electric forum page, so consider me a total newb to the workings of double bass.

But anyway:

recently I was introduced by two friends to the fantastic band John Butler Trio. Their bassist plays a double bass (as well as an electric, I believe, on some songs). These two friends, in fact, are performing the JBT song "Betterman" for a school concert, and told me that the "live version" of this song had in it a bass solo you just couldn't believe. I checked it out and was floored: essentially, it's an extended jam on a double bass through an envelope filter and slight OD, which sounds FANTASTIC! I just wanted to know, is the practice of running a double bass through an effects chain as common/accepted as it is for electric players?
  2. Dave Speranza

Dave Speranza Supporting Member

Mar 28, 2005
    Brooklyn, NY
    I just wanted to know, is the practice of running a double bass through an effects chain as common/accepted as it is for electric players?

The short answer is, no.

The long answer is, not only is it not accepted, most are actually offended by it.
  3. Still, as always it depends on the music. JBT are bluesy folk-rock. They're great live, though John Butler talks too much in between songs and has an annoying tendency to use exactly the same scale to solo with. I've also heard of Christian McBride doing some very interesting things with effects on his upright.

Check out the JBT album "Sunrise over sea". He's been through a number of different drummers and bass players, but this record is his best IMO, both for songwriting and sound. The bassist on that recording gets a wonderful upright sound.
  4. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member