Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

superdirty oldschool drive tone?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by ted13, Apr 12, 2005.

1. ted13

ted13

Mar 12, 2004
    montreal quebec
    Ok , i need some advice, i just started playing in a new project and need to get this sound somehow. it's not from my usual domain so i need advice. they used a hiwatt guitar amp and a DI in the sudio to get the sound. it's like a really driven tubey nasty tone not modern at all though. i have a demeter 201, mxr m-80, ibanez phathead, fulltone bassdrive(that i lent out so haven't tried it yet) the closest i've come to nailing it is with the phathed on overdrive mode, with the other switch in the off position and the drive prety cranked. sounds good but not the same. ya think the bassdrive might do it? i have considered picking up an old traynor amp and just driving the piss out of it. think that may work? or any other suggestions.

heres links to downlaod the songs
    http://www.breathingroom.ca/dusty/sonicwarmachine.mp3
    http://www.breathingroom.ca/dusty/hooklinesinker.mp3

2. an old tube amp such as ampeg V4, orange, marshall or as u mentioned traynor will propably do the trick sort of.
    it´s really hard getting that sound from a pedal and those hi-watt amps sound pretty special.

3. MrBonex

MrBonex

Jan 2, 2004
    New Hampshire
    For that type of sound, I don't think there is any substitute for a British tube amp. Just about any of them will do the trick.

Marshall, Sound City (my amp of choice), Hiwatt, Orange (I used to have one of these -- Orange 80 -- and I foolishly sold it), Green, Matamp, etc. They are all somewhat mutant variations on the Marshall which was a mutant variation of an old Fender Bassman.