Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Surf bass

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by surflizard84, Jul 21, 2002.

1. All right, It's my first time posting here, so here goes. . . I am 17 years old and I am currently working with a surf rock band (I surf and love the music so I knew I would love to play bass in the band). To be perfectly honest I am kinda lacking in the department of coming up with good grooves:(
    My main insperation is Mike Anthony of Van Halen, I really dig the way he puts awsome power and clean grooves together. I want to bring that into this band. :D Basically hat I'm asking, is if anyone can help develop some really kewl grooves. Sooooooo if anyone can help me with my little problemo, It would be much appreciated. :D

2. oh and I really wanna be creative, I don't like simplicity. So, I wanna harmonize, keep grooves but also go off and do my own thing too. I know this is a lot of help I'm askin' for but I'm sure you dudes can help me somewhere
    -Thanks;)

3. Always remember the Surfaris.
    Inserting the little "wipe out" guitar groove on bass anywhere and anytime is definitely an effective surf riff.
    Hope this helps!
    Sean -aroo

4. LiquidMidnight

LiquidMidnight

Dec 25, 2000
    While Surf is a bit different from the early Rockabilly that came before it, it does borrow a lot from it, espcially in the bass department.