Suspicious Music man on e-bay

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by axel, Dec 2, 2004.

1. axel

Nov 30, 2004
    I'm kind of new to shopping on e-bay but I ran across an ad for Music Man Stingray that smells a little funny. Check out item#3766261108. This same bass was recently listed as #3765683018 and pulled the day before ending. This guy has had three identities in the last year and will not provide any information regarding model year, condition or photos of the actual item.
    What do you think?
  2. ChenNuts44

Nov 18, 2001
    Davenport, IA
    I wouldn't touch it with a 10 foot pole.
  3. MJ5150

MJ5150 Terrific Twister

Apr 12, 2001
    Lacey, WA
    I think there are alot of basses just like that one for sale. Don't lose any sleep over this guy. He's probably more confused than you are. :D

4. lethargytartare

Sep 7, 2004
    LOL -- I've been watching that too, and had the same response...FYI: you can get a cheap escrow service (try to handle things if you're really intent on getting the bass and the seller is willing. For that price range, you'd probably end up paying $25-30 in fees, but it's a great kind of insurance. If you're not familiar with "escrow" here's how it would work: you give your money to a third party, they tell the seller to ship you the bass, when you tell the service that the bass arrived, they send the money on to the seller. So if you never receive the bass, you're covered. It adds a small amount of work to the seller, but no cost, so if they're unwilling to do it, you know you don't want to deal with them.

Good luck!

5. Take a look at the list of current bidders. They all have the same format to their user ID's as the seller. This auction reeks.
  6. lethargytartare

Sep 7, 2004
    It's odd -- he replies to inquiries, but doesn't offer much in the way of additional info. Here's the reply: