Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by JazzFusionB0rg, Jul 15, 2005.

1. I'm an Aussie bassist looking to get the Ampeg sound (on the cheap). :hyper:

With some good specials at the moment I'm getting a Crown poweramp that spits out ~1100W @ 4Ohms bridged with one of the above two preamps supplying the goodness... :bassist:

...The only question is which one#@! :confused:

I've read every thread I could find on both of the above and find that there's quite a few people that prefer the CL over the PRO. I *am* after the classic SVT-CL sound, but notice that the CL has no effects loop support and lacks the 9-band EQ of the PRO. They cost me the same (so don't bother using price as a comparison) so can anyone help me out? Is it possible to get the CL sound using the PRO after some tweaking?

Cheers all....

Stealth Edit: Crown poweramp = 2 slots, Ampeg pre = 1 slot. Should I get a 3 slot rackcase or a 4 to let them 'breathe'? I have no plans to purchase anymore rack gear... :help:
  2. the SVP CL is the same circuit as used on the original SVT in the late 60's and early 70's, so thats why its the same

The SVP Pro has the added do-da's that the Pro series amps have, i think you'd be better with the SVP CL to be honest, i think thats what you want
  3. you could probably get a close ish sound, but it wouldnt be the same, (different pre tube array)
  4. epoxo57

Feb 17, 2005
    Perrysburg, Ohio