SVP-PRO preamp review

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by ThunderStik, Sep 11, 2001.

1. ThunderStik

ThunderStik Guest

Jun 25, 2001
    Claremore OK.
    I had been playing a hartke 7000 with an swr henry 8x8 for the last 2-3 years and decided on a new rig.The main course is the svp pro preamp and here is the review.

test equipment;
    spector ns4 (czech)
    wizard custom bo
    wizard custom nt
    kawai bass
    washburn/status headless
    carvin 1500watt power amp
    dbx 160a comp
    eden 115xlt
    swr goliath 6x10

First thought ; SOB this kix ass, as a comparison to the hartke the svp is FAT, a hamburger compared to a thick roast. This pre has meat on its bones and its just a very big sound.

After a tweak:
    There are alot of sounds and features to this pre a footswitchable tuner out and eq which I like alot but one thing that all the sounds have they are very warm and thick even slapping which suprised me. You can get a very nice jazz sound out of it or the good old rock sound. The one sound I have yet to get is a real hi-fi sound, I think it will just take more tweakin but that is not a priority right now. All features are usable and I like that , I hate useless features.

This thing kicked butt through both cabs and it really likes active pickups. I thought it would peter out in the 1-15 but really held its own.
    The "tubieness" really comes out the further up the volume goes .

Conclusion: The best 280 bux ive ever spent. I bought the unit used from HC and it arrived in dead mint condition with footswitch. I would recomend this pre to anybody (except extreme hi-fi purist) and if i strip down the rack to power amp and pre you get a 45 pound 1500 watt portable earthquake in a 4 rack space, not bad. On a 1-10 scale I give it a 9, versatility function and sound quality ya just can beat it.
  2. Craig H

Craig H

Mar 23, 2000
    Kansas City