1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

SVT 2-PRO I think I might be in love

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Bob Rock, Jan 4, 2012.

1. Bob Rock

Bob Rock

Dec 30, 2009
    I went to one of the local music stores this weekend. They had a SVT2-PRO sitting on a Classic 610 Cab. Always been curious so I tried her out. First impression was it sounds like a bass amp nothing special. I started playing with the knobs, turns out this amp is very versatile with the tones, i like. Then came the Drive knob. First letÂ’s get one think clear. I believe distortion belongs on a guitar not a bass, no offence to anyone. Well turning the drive knob up from 9am to noon really added some attitude and bite/edge to the sound and it still sounded clean. I went to being very impressed rite away.

Should I invest? My Mark Bass rig would have to go.

What to do??

2. JimmyM

JimmyM

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Follow your heart, dude.

3. suraci

suraci

Apr 11, 2005
    Tough one, cause it isn't on the BANDSTAND, where things are different

4. jmattbassplaya

jmattbassplaya Looking for a gig around East Islip, NY!

Jan 13, 2008
    Not to hop on your thread and steal the show here, but would anyone recommend making the transition from the Ampeg SVT-CL to the SVT2 or Pro2?

5. slapstick13

slapstick13

Feb 5, 2010