1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

SVT 3 Pro vs. Shuttle 6.0?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by peterwsmith, Sep 16, 2008.

1. Hi all,

I'm fairly new to TB, but have been lurking around a few months.

With all the talk about the Shuttle, I can't help but be intrigued. How does it compare to an SVT 3 Pro?

Background: I'm currently playing an EBMM > Sansamp BDDI > SVT 3 > SWR Golitath Sr 6X10. I play in a pretty straight forward rock band. Tonewise I dig a little dirt, and nice punchy low mids.

Thanks for any info!!

2. Eublet

Eublet

Jul 28, 2006
    Shuttle has a different tone, and more power. The SVT 3 Pro has more tubes in the pre, so it has more of that classic Ampeg tone. The Shuttle is much more hybrid sounding.

3. allexcosta

allexcosta

Apr 7, 2004
    Apples and oranges. Try both, please...

4. Vinny D

Vinny D

Jan 9, 2007
    Warwick, RI
    I consider the SVT3 pro to be the best sounding head Ampeg makes tone wise (for my taste), but it is like night and day compared to a shuttle.
    I would say if you are into the Ampeg sound the Shuttle will probably not do it for you....unless you are looking for a new sound:)

Try one and see if it's for you but I would say if you like the dirty tone you can get from the Ampeg because of it's preamp design you most likely will not like the Shuttle.

5. I asked the question because I don't have the spare $700 to order a Shuttle. The only brands my local music stores carry are Fender, Beringher and Ampeg. Believe me, if I could have tried one, I would have.

Everyone else, thanks for the advice! I really appreciate it. Now I don't have to GAS for the Shuttle so much!

6. Hawkeye

Hawkeye Canuck Amateur

I agree on the SVT III Pro. It's a very nice sounding head. I used one for two years and was quite satisfied with it. Compared to SVT 4 and others I'd take the III Pro any day.