1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

SVT-4 Pro too much for SVT 410HLF???

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by burtonisalive, Apr 15, 2006.

1. I have the opportunity to purchase a used Ampeg SVT-4 Pro at a local guitar shop for $800. It is in great condition and appears to be worth it. I'm a fan of Ampeg, so to me, the tone is flippin' sweet.

My question is that I am looking to purchase the SVT 410HLF (leaning towards the SVT-3 Pro head if bought new) and was wondering if the SVT-4 Pro was too poweful for this cab?

Going by the wattage, it seems so, but I have never owned a stack, so I have no first-hand experience with this.

Thanks for all replies.

2. Skel

Skel

Jun 19, 2005
    Boulder, Colorado
    I used the set up you are talking about - a single 410HLF into just one of the 2 power amps on the 4-PRO, of course (stereo mode) - no problem at all and great tone. I wouldn't run the amp in biamp mode, though - too much power, and you don't need it for just the single 410HLF. I forgot the exact wattage of either power amp in stereo at 4-ohms, but you don't have to crank the amp up to 10. I'm not convinced the amp's wattage is what it claims to be anyway. I had no problems whatsoever and I think it's commonly done.

3. Ryan L.

Ryan L. Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Aug 7, 2000
    West Fargo, ND
    I have been mono-bridging my SVT4 Pro into a single 410HLF for years. I am careful not to get crazy with the EQ and push too much into it (in other words, I don't crank the lows on the amp). But this setup has been working great for me, and the headroom I have with all that power going into the cab is outstanding.