Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

svt 4pro peak light

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Jari Kurri, Mar 7, 2005.

1. Jari Kurri

Jari Kurri

Jul 24, 2000
    denver, co
    I'm playing through an Ampeg SVT-4pro that I've had forever and am happy with, but I have a question about the peak light. Recently I started playing with a new band that's louder and more agressive than I've been playing with in the past. I've started playing with a pick (using a passive P bass) and I noticed that I have to crank the gain way down and I'm still lighting the peak light a fair amount. I'm not using a lot of eq (bass and low mids boosted a bit, graphic EQ is off, Ultra low switch is off) and I'm not using the compressor either. The thing is, I dig the slightly distorted tone I'm getting when I play hard with this setup, but am I going to fry my amp or speakers soon by doing this?

2. Jerrold Tiers

Jerrold Tiers

Nov 14, 2003
    St Louis
    It's Ok for peak light to light....meaning the one by the input and gain control.

If you adjust master for whatever level you need, you will be fine amp-wise, even if the preamp gets a bit "growly".

The speakers do see more power with slightly distorted vs totally clean sound. How much more depends on how distorted it is, and how far you turn up. Probably you are fine, if your speakers are reasonably matched to the amp-power-wise, meaning 1/3 to 1/2 amp power minimum.

The more distorted and the more you turn up, the more important it is to not wildly over-power the speakers. If you play loud industrial punk, you definitely will get more power out than the average jazz or country player. And, in that case, I would NOT recommend speakers rated at "rms" less than about half the amp power.

This has been covered a few times, so you might do a search on speaker power ratings, etc. There are other opinions.