1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Svt at 8 ohms

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by whitespike, Jan 20, 2012.

1. whitespike

whitespike

Nov 28, 2007
    Austin, TX
    Does an SVT still run 300 watts at 8 ohms?

2. someparts

someparts

Nov 22, 2010
    Ohio
    For a while it will... :ninja:

Don't run it at 8 ohms if you can help it.

3. whitespike

whitespike

Nov 28, 2007
    Austin, TX
    What do you mean by this? Will it hurt it?

4. I believe it's output transformer only has 4 and 2 ohm tapps so it won't put out the full 300 at 8 ohms and it will run the tubes harder. I am by no means an SVT expert so I'll defer to one of the more experienced Ampeg users here on TB. If I had to guess on power at 8 ohms I would sayyyy......230-250 watts RMS at 8 ohms.

Again, I'm only a novice when it comes to tubes.

5. Sinomis666

Sinomis666

Apr 16, 2011
    I did it for a while... went thru a few tubes because of it.. get a 4 ohm cab!

6. What model SVT? A lot of models are called "SVT" including many SS output ones.

7. whitespike

whitespike

Nov 28, 2007
    Austin, TX
    So it could hurt it? Crap. I have to look and what speakers I have. I replaced the speakers in my V4 412 a couple of years back for more powerful bass speakers. I feel like I would have replaced them with the same impedance. Did the V4 412 come in both 4 and 8 ohms?

8. whitespike

whitespike

Nov 28, 2007
    Austin, TX
    The model is the SVT PRO II that I am borrowing. I plan in purchasing an SVT Classic.

9. Jerrold Tiers

Jerrold Tiers

Nov 14, 2003
    St Louis
    You can usually do it if you don't push the amp, but it basically isn't a super idea..... no guarantees on what will happen.

Borrowed SVT? Play it like ya stole it? ;)

10. whitespike

whitespike

Nov 28, 2007
    Austin, TX