Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

svt II, older model--how does it compare to 1001RB?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by heat@500Hz, Jul 3, 2005.

1. heat@500Hz

heat@500Hz Guest

Jun 11, 2005
    Lago Blanco de la Roca
    a strange question, i admit! but please forgive my ignorance...and the long intro

i'm basically a newbie to bass guitar, i played regular six-string for 12 years, gigging seriously for 4 of those years, my guitar rig is a les paul thru a '79 marshall JMP 2203...with the bass, i like to noodle thru a variety of music from marcus miller-esque r&b to rhcp to primus, but my primary devotion to the instrument is in the classic r&b to classic rock vein (i love the old stuff)

i currently play a fender jazz with vintage j pickups thru my 1001 RBII, into a gk neo 112 and neo 115...i never have a real tough time finding a good sound out of any reasonably good amp, and this amp has some really good sounds, especially for the newer stuff and thumbing stuff, but i admit, it takes some drastic eq tweaking to get the old mellow vibe going!

i have a lead on an ampeg svt II with an 810 cab for a good price, locally, but i haven't played this amp yet

if i buy it, i'll likely sell my gk stuff, but i'm wondering--will this head and cab give me more of the classic sound (i hope)?

is this head very versatile? i understand the eq is switchable on/off, and with it, could i get a more modern sound too?

one last question--basically i think i want a semi-equivalent to my guitar rig:ballsy, basic and big...would this bass rig be near that equivalent? or is it more modern?

Thanks!

2. pyrohr

pyrohr

Aug 28, 2001
    Pakistani compound