Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Switch from French to German Bow

Discussion in 'Bows and Rosin [DB]' started by bdengler, Apr 22, 2001.

1. bdengler

bdengler

Jan 23, 2000
    New Albany, Ohio
    I don't want to get into the debate of which bow is better, but has anyone switched from German Bow to French, and, if so, why?

2. Brian,

When I started playing again two years ago, I used a German bow. After about a year, I started feeling the beginnings of shoulder pain. I immediately changed to a French bow. I have not had the pain since. My teacher had had to change from French to German for the same reason only it was elbow pain.

Wheather it is French or German, I have found that proper bowing technique is difficult. The more I learn, the more I realize I don't know.

Mark

3. I switched from french to german due to chronic hand pain. My teachers said my hold was proper, but it still hurt. There is no better bow than the one that allows you to reach your full potential, whichever it is.

4. I don't know if anyone's still reading this one, but I thought I'd add to it, since I've switched from French to German to back again and have thoughts about both and the switch both ways.