1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Switching between two and three fingers?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by jordy_on_bass, Aug 16, 2012.

1. jordy_on_bass

jordy_on_bass

Jul 6, 2010
    Australia
    Hey guys,

Just a question about technique here. I started off my fingerstyle using two fingers. Having been self-taught, I never even knew that you could play with three fingers until years after I started. It has taken me a long time to transition as I feel I have better endurance and rhythm using three fingers - although that was when riding continuous 8th notes. Whenever it got technical, I would have to change back to two fingers and then be stuck in the mindset of playing with only two fingers for the rest of the song.

Over the past 12 months, I thought I had refined my technique down and felt as though I played with three fingers consistently. Whilst at band rehearsals a couple days ago, one of the guitarists pointed out that I switch between two and three fingers. Upon actually concentrating on what my right hand is doing, I realised they were right. Although the thing I found interesting is that I was doing it sub-consciously. I felt frustrated, but they were trying to re-assure me that it was fine as the bass sounds awesome and it's a good thing that my fingers 'do their own thing.

Is this something I should work on? Or is it OK to let my hands instinctively do what they do since it is not hampering my sound or ability to keep up with their fast, technical riffs?

2. BKuettel

BKuettel

Apr 8, 2011
    Oneonta, NY