1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Switching from electic to bass question

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by britishnation, May 19, 2011.

1. britishnation

britishnation

May 19, 2011
    I've been playing the electric guitar for a couple of years now, and im intested in learning the bass too. Is it somewhat easy to switch (is it similar), or is it like learning a whole new instrument?

thanks,
    John

2. I began on acoustic and went to bass and it was a completely different instrument. If you use a pick on the bass it could be relatively the same to play, but you'll need to learn how to play bass parts which is completely different than guitar, as it's role in the band is different. Try it out for sure though, it will make you more versatile, and you may even prefer it. good luck

3. kuys

kuys

Jun 29, 2010
    Similar in that they are both stringed instruments but bass is not "easy guitar". The approach is entirely different. Your job is to provide a bridge to the percussive instruments for the other tonal instruments.

That's not to say you have to ride the root all day either. I don't know where I'm going with this really. I played guitar for 15 years before I switched to bass and I realized that I was always a bass player. It's simply about the groove. :bassist:

4. baalroo

baalroo

Mar 24, 2008
    Wichita, KS