Switching from right handed playing to left handed possible?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Hiway61, Feb 6, 2002.

1. Hiway61

Nov 24, 2001
    SE Pennsylvania
    I recently experienced a tear of some muscle of my left shoulder's rotator cuff and am unable to move my left hand up and down (mostly up) the neck of my bass while keeping my fingers over the fretboard. I have to go through a few gyrations to move my hand up the neck. Before I think about surgery (I had surgery on this same shoulder about 12 years ago and will repeat it reluctantly), I was wondering if any of you or anyone you know has successfully changed playing from either right or left handed to the opposite. I have only been playing for about 3 1/2 years (started at the ripe old age of 48 -- a midlife crisis thing I guess) so I don't have a huge amount of skills accumulated if that makes any difference in your advice.

2. nuklhed

Dec 21, 2000
    Louisville Ky
    I started playing about 3 1/2 yrs. ago. I am left handed. I started playing that way. I got ao frustrated because my left hand fingers couldn't pluck the strings and slapping was impossible. My other hand was just as bad on the fret board. I played like that off and on for a year. I finally put it down. I happened to throw a party, with a live band. The bass player let me mess with his rig. It felt natural. I have been playing like that ever since. I'm left handed, I am playing a right handed bass right handed. My playing is increasing along with my knowledge. It just depends on how bad you want to do it. I highly recommend getting a little buzz on first.;)
  3. If you've already become proficient playing righty this could be an extremely difficult task, even if you don't yet have a huge amount of skills. You've probably already developed your concept for playing, and it might be hard to reverse that.