1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

SWR 750x tone?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by ajbuell97, Apr 13, 2015.

1. ajbuell97

ajbuell97

Apr 13, 2015
    Hey guys. So I'm a bassist of 10 years now, I started on double bass and began with electric bass and electric guitar two years after that. I have played electric bss in jazz groups for the last 8 years. Throughout the years the electric guitar has been the instrument that I have really spent the most of money on because it is the one that I mostly played in my personal bands and things like that, so I know all about electric guitar equipment, but through all of my electric guitar purchases I have only purchased a few different things for electric bass. I play a fender american standard jazz bass which I love and am okay with. I also have an ampeg ba100 combo. I bought this amp because it is the one that the jazz group I play in owns and it worked well in that situation. It works for me at home for practice and I feel it has a nice tone. The problem recently came into play when I had to switch from electric guitar to bass in my band that plays rock music ranging anywhere from the strokes to led zeppelin to wolfmother. The amp does not have enough power and is no longer living up to my needs. At a performance this weekend with my jazz group I was provided an SWR 750x Head with a Goliath II 4x10 Cab. I was absolutely blown away by the tone of this amp, absolutely incredible. I didn't come to ask "which amp is better X or Y" because I've learned from years of searching forums on guitar amps that it never helps. I know I love the tone of this amp but my question is, how does it perform in a rock band situation given the type of music I will be using it for? Can it get loud enough to deal with a loud band? Does it get lost in the mix easily? And also does anyone know what a fair price might be for