Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

SWR Goliath Sr.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by miktit, Apr 28, 2001.

1. miktit

miktit Supporting Member

Apr 15, 2001
    Denmark
    What is Your oppinion on this cab?
    What would You prefer instead?

Mik Tit

2. I tried a used one out at Guitar Center yesterday and it sounded awesome. I played through a bass 750 head. I really wanted to get it, but I'd prefer getting a Goliath jr and a Goliath 4x10's for portability reasons.

3. mchildree

mchildree Supporting Member

Sep 4, 2000
    AL/GA
    I've been using one for a couple of years now, and it's far and away the best cabinet I've had. It'll get VERY loud...I'll put my rig (Alembic F1-X, Mackie 1400, Goliath Sr.) up against anybody's SVT, any day...and I'm a long-time SVT fan. I can't imagine anyone needing much more unless you're doing some incredibly loud gigs. It's a little bigger than a Goliath III or other 4x10, but guess what? It's more portable. An SWR or Eden 4x10 is a heavy MF! The Goliath SR 6x10 doesn't weigh much more and it has casters and handles all over. You can tilt it back and roll it like an SVT cab. It's only a few inches taller than a 4x10 too. That crap about a 4x10 and a 2x10 being more portable is a myth...that's 2 trips, and takes up more space.

4. mchildree

Sep 4, 2000
    AL/GA
    Sorry Robot-Trashcan...I didn't mean that your opinion was "crap"...just a figure of my speech...I was up really late and the coffee hasn't kicked the brain processes in yet.

5. leftybassdog

leftybassdog Senior Supporting Member