1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

SWR red face 350 vs. Ampeg B5R

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Ampegged Paul, Sep 9, 2008.

1. Ampegged Paul

Ampegged Paul

Jun 17, 2008
    Syracuse,NY
    in 2 parts...
    I have an opprotunity to buy a SWR(tube pre-amp) then I would sell My Ampeg. So heres my questions:
    #1)How is it that my Ampeg is 500W@2 ohms and 300@4 and the SWR is 450@2 and 350@4? Im a scientist as my day job and I swear the "amp math" gets me all the time.
    #2)Is it an upgrade to go from the Ampeg B5R to the SWR?

Thanks guys!:bassist:

2. pbass2go

pbass2go

Dec 19, 2004
    Apple Valley, MN
    1. Amp math has always been a mystery with some companies giving inflated numbers and so forth.

2. I am not familiar with with the ampeg amp but I have heard the red faced 350 and it sounds great. It should have enough power to push a 4X10 and have a direct out for a PA.

Good luck

3. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

Jul 22, 2007
    Dallas, TX
    I wouldn't think of the swap as an upgrade, so much as a change, (for better or worse). Only you will know if the SWR is "better".

4. Ampegged Paul

Ampegged Paul

Jun 17, 2008
    Syracuse,NY
    I was more lookin for opinions or any practical advice about the SWR(It'll be my first...maybe).
    I play through an Ampeg 410HLF and a GK 410 backline. So it seems like Im down to 350 preamp tube watts from the SWR or 300 from the solid state Ampeg.

5. lundborg

lundborg

Apr 8, 2008
    I've used the SWR red face for almost 10 years now... A great little amp! I use it with an Ampeg 1510 cab (15" + 4x10"). This is an 8 ohm cabinet so the output power should be about 240 w.
    For the small places I play it's just about enough.